### **Planning Committee**

### Thursday 14 April 2022

### **PRESENT:**

Councillor R Smith, in the Chair.

Councillor Wakeham, Vice Chair.

Councillors Corvid, Dr Mahony (substitute for Councillor Partridge), Mrs Pengelly (substitute for Councillor Nicholson) Shayer, Stevens, Stoneman and Tuffin.

Apologies for absence: Councillors Cresswell, Derrick, Nicholson and Partridge.

Also in attendance: Carly Francis (Area Planning Manager), Julie Parkin (Senior Lawyer), Jake Metcalfe (Democratic Advisor) and Helen Rickman (Democratic Advisor).

The meeting started at 4.00 pm and finished at 4.45pm.

Note: At a future meeting, the committee will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

### 98. **Declarations of Interest**

The following declaration of interest was made by members in accordance with the code of conduct.

Name	Minute	Reason	Interest
Councillor Dr	Minute 104	Shareholder in	Pecuniary Interest
Mahony	Land at Sugar	Sutton Harbour	
	Quay, East Quay,	Holdings.	
	Sutton Harbour,		
	Plymouth -		
	20/02046/FUL		

### 99. **Minutes**

Agreed the minutes of the meeting held on 17 March 2022 as an accurate record.

### 100. Chair's Urgent Business

There were no items of Chair's urgent business.

### 101. Questions from Members of the Public

There were no questions from members of the public.

### 102. Planning Applications for consideration

The Committee considered the following applications, development proposals by local authorities and statutory consultations submitted under the Town and Country Planning Act, 1990, and the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservations Areas) Act, 1990.

### 103. 79 Dean Hill, Plymouth, PL9 9AF - 22/00195/FUL

Mrs Hayley Johns

Decision:

Application GRANTED conditionally.

# 104. Land at Sugar Quay, East Quay, Sutton Harbour, Plymouth - 20/02046/FUL

Sutton Harbour Group

Decision:

Application Granted Conditionally subject to delegated authority to Director of Strategic Planning and Infrastructure to refuse the application if the \$106 is not signed within the agreed timeframes (3 months).

New condition 50 recommendation agreed:

#### PRE-COMENCEMENT

Prior to the commencement of development full detail of the proposed sound attenuation measures and their technical specification shall be submitted to and approved in writing by the Local Planning Authority. Once approved development shall be constructed in full accordance with the approved detail.

### Reason:

To protect the residential amenity of the proposed development from noise emanating from the business and avoid conflict with Policies DEVI (Protecting health and amenity) and DEV2 (Air, water, soil, noise, land and light) of the Plymouth and Southwest Devon Joint Local Plan 2014-2034.

Justification: To protect the residential amenity of the development from noise emanating from the surrounding business uses.

(The Committee heard from Mr Jones, speaking on behalf of the applicant)

### 105. Planning Enforcement

The Committee noted the Planning Enforcement Report.

### 106. Planning Application Decisions Issued

The Committee noted the report from the Service Director for Strategic Planning and Infrastructure on decisions issued since the last meeting.

### 107. Appeal Decisions

The Committee noted the schedule of appeal decisions made by the Planning Inspectorate.

**VOTING SCHEDULE** (Pages 5 - 6)



## PLANNING COMMITTEE - 14 April 2022

## **SCHEDULE OF VOTING**

Minute number and Application		Voting for	Voting against	Abstained	Absent due to interest declared	Absent
6.1	79 Dean Hill, Plymouth, PL9 9AF – 22/00195/FUL  Decision: Application Granted conditionally.	Councillors Corvid, Dr Mahony, Mrs Pengelly, Shayer, Stevens, Stoneman, Tuffin, Wakeham and Smith.				Councillor Cresswell, Derrick, Morris, Nicholson and Partridge.
6.2	Land at Sugar Quay, East Quay, Sutton Harbour, Plymouth – 20/02046/FUL  Decision: Application Granted Conditionally subject to delegated authority to Director of Strategic Planning and Infrastructure to refuse the application if the \$106 is not signed within the agreed timeframes (3 months).	Councillors Corvid, Mrs Pengelly, Shayer, Stevens, Stoneman, Tuffin, Wakeham and Smith.			Councillor Dr Mahony	Councillor Cresswell, Derrick, Morris, Nicholson and Partridge.

